The State Library of Kansas provides an array of databases, digital book services and learning platforms. If you are building a list of database links for your library's website, Statewide Resources can offer suggestions by library type and audience. To view resources and access promotional material go to the full list of resources. Search for a specific resource or filter by vendor or type: databases, digital books or learning platforms.
NoveList Plus is a great resource for library staff to enhance reader's advisory.
View the State Library training collection for statewide resources and check the calendar for upcoming sessions and access archives at Continuing Education. To schedule training on a specific resource email eResources@ks.gov.
Below is information for libraries on how to:
Geolocation is the simplest method. IP addresses are verified as assigned to a Kansas location when links are accessed.
Libraries can use copy link information from the State Library's website and place it on their website. If a specific resource is desired request a link by sending the information for the specific resource to kslc@ks.gov.
Kansas (Library) eCard requires a sign-in to a secure page with links to all resources.
Link or bookmark library.ks.gov/ecard.
Custom specific vendors of statewide resources work with a library to create links specific to that library. Links are crafted to recognize the library's preferred type of authentication: local sign-in or locally maintained IP recognition.
For more details on each type of connection and how to set up custom connections visit the Statewide Resources Authentication 101 tutorial in Niche Academy.
There are four ways a Kansas library can set up EBSCO access.
1. Post the link library.ks.gov/ecard on your website which takes patrons to the login page. Patrons can login with their Kansas Library eCard for access to EBSCO resources. Go to General Research section then click EBSCO All Research Database List.
2. Use your EBSCO admin account to set up access methods. Go to EBSCO Admin, login with your admin username and password.
Most existing accounts, including those discontinued when the last EBSCO contract ended, are up to date and activated. If you do not know your login or need to create a new account, contact kslc@ks.gov
3. Request a URL, able to recognize IP locations, to link on your website. The link allows patrons to use EBSCO resources anywhere in Kansas through your website, no login required. This is a specialized URL. Libraries must request a link from the Statewide Services at the State Library. Please email kslc@ks.gov for more information.
4. If your library subscribes to EBSCO products, your existing portal and administration account can be modified to include statewide resources along with those you purchase directly. If you have questions about the setup of your account, or about duplication issues, please contact your EBSCO sales rep.
Complete the form to gain web access authorization for Gale.
If your library's use of specific databases is identifiable by IP address, specific URL or a unique login, vendors can provide statistics information.
Database use via the Kansas Library eCard is not tied to individual library database accounts. Kansas Library eCard use is counted at the state level and combined with library-level use to evaluate the effectiveness of statewide resources. This combined data is available to libraries upon request via email or call 785-296-3296.
To request individual usage statistics, contact Melissa Sroka, Account Executive, via email or 703-728-8345.
Access individual usage statistics for EBSCO by logging into the EBSCO administrative portal using the administrative ID and password assigned to your organization.
Access usage statistics and data through the Gale Admin Portal, provided you are identified as an institution under the Kansas Statewide Consortium and are using a custom link provided by Gale. To confirm Location ID or set up a username and password for Gale Admin, send an email, carbon copy (cc) Chris Michela and Doug Hansen. Or call 800-877-4253 ext. 8084, or 248-699-8636.
You can access individual use statistics for Infobase by logging into the Infobase administrative portal using the administrative ID and password that was assigned to your organization. If you don't know this information, email kslc@ks.gov to request it.
Log on to OCLC Usage Statistics to view and print statistics. You can log on to this module using your WorldCat authorization (9-digit number assigned by OCLC) and your Statistics password.
View the Heritage Quest usage reports. Customers are automatically IP-authenticated for the usage account. If you do not use IP authentication, you'll get a username/password login screen.
To retrieve usage statistics, logon to the ProQuest Admin site. To get your ProQuest administrator module information, contact ProQuest Customer Service via email, and:
For previous year statistics go to Kansas Government Information (KGI) Online Library.
Most digital book services require login by patrons and do not offer individual library statistics. These two children's digital services can link directly from your library's website.
No restrictions, school and curriculum use is encouraged. Three connection options:
BookFlix is a public library subscription, the license does not include school and curriculum use. Two connection options:
State Library digital resources now use SIP connections with Koha to authenticate users. After migration, State Library staff discovered the patron Library IDs were not shared with the vendors as expected. This means there are no library-specific statistics for CloudLibrary and Freading for the months of August and September 2024.
The connections for digital resources are now configured to provide the necessary information.
Patrons access CloudLibrary and Freading services via Kansas State Library eCard (KSCL) login which allows the vendor to see the library the card originated from, then use that to assign local circulation. If your library or consortium has multiple KSCL administrative logins, locate all and total the circulation for each KLSC login.
CloudLibrary statistics are updated monthly, file builds from January through December of the year.
Freading statistics are updated monthly, file builds from January through December of the year.
For previous year statistics, go to Kansas Government Information (KGI) Online Library.
Individual libraries, organizations and regional libraries can contribute to the State Library digital book collections by providing funds or purchasing directly. At this time, the only service with direct purchase options is CloudLibrary. To learn more about contributing funds or purchasing, email Statewide Resources directly.
If you are purchasing content directly from CloudLibrary to add to the State Library collection, follow these general instructions and guidelines.
CloudLibrary CAT Admin Panel
Username is your email address. Use the forgot password link if you have misplaced your information.
Librarians and patrons can submit a request to the State Library. Consider adding a title in eBook or audiobook formats.
Records for ebooks and audiobooks are available via email notification list. Subscribe to a MARC notification list send the request via email, include the digital book service(s), in the email. For more information contact Statewide Resources, 785-296-2146.
Services with MARC records:
| Service | MARC Available | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Britannica Collective service is for juvenile only. |
Full catalog | 856 only works with in-house direct connection setup, see Connections tab. |
| CloudLibrary | Full catalog Adult and YA only YA and Juvenile only YA only Juvenile only |
|
| Genealogy Connect | Full catalog | |
|
Scholastic BookFlix |
Full catalog | 856 only works with in-house direct connection setup, see Connections tab. |
Mango can provide your library with access to use statistics and data, provided you have an established member account and are using a custom link provided by Mango. If you have previously submitted a Mango Integration form, simply email your request to Cruz Pardo and she will provide you with access. Complete the integration form, Excel file below, then attach it to the email.
Call 785-296-2146 or 800-432-3919.
Questions about Statewide Resources or Kansas Library eCard? Email kslc@ks.gov.
The Kansas Library eCard is the entry to statewide resources: databases, digital books and learning resources. All libraries in Kansas: public, school and academic, have the right to create, modify and renew Kansas Library eCards for Kansas residents.
Admin Login for Librarians login to create, modify, renew accounts
Use this form to have Statewide Services contact you with your library's login credentials.
